Skip to main content
European Commission Representation in Cyprus
Press release5 May 2022Representation in Cyprus1 min read

#BeInclusive Sport Awards: Commissioner Mariya Gabriel announces the winners

The Commission announced the winners of its annual #BeInclusive EU Sport Awards.

Statement by Mariya Gabriel, European Commissioner, on the adoption of the 2022 work programme of the European Innovation Council

Every year, organisations whose work uses the power of sport to improve social inclusion for disadvantaged groups receive recognition from the Commission with the #BeInclusive EU Sport Awards. The three prize categories were “Breaking barriers”, won by the Italian Politecnico di Milano for Gift; “Celebrating diversity”, won by the Czech Cesta za Snem for Handy Cycling Marathon; and “Inspiring change”, won by Greek Orama neon youtharoma for A Ball for All. They have increased and fostered the social inclusion of disadvantaged groups through their sport activities. The #BeInclusive EU Sport Awards are dotted with a prize of €10,000 for each winner. Mariya Gabriel, Commissioner for Innovation, Research, Culture, Education and Youth said: “Sport embodies universal values and bridges differences. With this award, we are proud to celebrate those that break barriers, celebrate diversity, and inspire change through sport. By recognising those who make real change, we renew our commitment to uphold our European values of solidarity, inclusion and peace.” More information about this year's winners is available online


Publication date
5 May 2022
Representation in Cyprus