Skip to main content
European Commission logo
Representation in Cyprus
News article20 September 2021

EU at UNGA76: The EU starts its engagements at the UN General Assembly in New York

State of the Union Address 2021 by Ursula von der Leyen, President of the European Commission

Today, the EU kicks off a week full of high-level meetings with world leaders in New York. This morning, President of the European Commission, Ursula von der Leyen will participate in the Informal Leaders Roundtable on Climate Action, alongside the President of the European Council, Charles Michel. The roundtable is an opportunity to call for more global action and address gaps in urgent actions on climate mitigation, finance and adaptation. The EU remains at the forefront of global efforts with its commitment to cut greenhouse gas emissions by at least 55% by 2030. In the afternoon, President von der Leyen and High Representative/Vice-President Borrell, together with the President of the European Council, Charles Michel, will meet the UN Secretary General António Guterres. Commissioner for International Partnerships, Jutta Urpilainen, will deliver opening remarks at the African Union-UNICEF High-level Side Event “Re-imagining Education in Africa” (16:00 EST, 22:00 CET). Later in the evening, High Representative Borrell will chair the traditional informal meeting of EU Foreign Affairs Ministers. He will hold a press conference at the end of the meeting at around 20:00 EST (02:00 CET). Audio-visual coverage will be available on EbS

Details

Publication date
20 September 2021