Skip to main content
European Commission Representation in Cyprus
News article5 January 2022Representation in Cyprus1 min read

Commission calls for experts to advise on the implementation of the EU Missions

Statement by  Mariya Gabriel, European Commissioner, Biliana Sirakova, EU Youth Coordinator, and Juan Rayón González, President of the Erasmus Student Network (ESN), on the Erasmus+ app

Today, the Commission has launched a call for experts to join the five Mission Boards who will advise on the implementation of the EU Missions. The Missions aim to deliver solutions to key global challenges by 2030: Adaptation to Climate Change, Cancer, Restore our Ocean and Waters, Climate-Neutral and Smart Cities and A Soil Deal for Europe. Each Board will consist of up to 15 independent high-level experts with diverse profiles, such as from business, public administration, science, culture, citizen engagement, and civil society organisations, from across Europe and beyond. Building on the work of the first Mission Boards who were in charge until December 2021, the main tasks of the new ones will be to raise awareness among citizens and to advise on the actions of each of the Missions´ implementation plans. Mariya Gabriel, Commissioner for Innovation, Research, Culture, Education and Youth, said: “This call for new Mission Boards members is the opportunity to take on new skills and bring together top experts to support the Missions. They will help inspire citizens and advise on the implementation plans. Together we will make our Missions a success.” Missions are a novelty of Horizon Europe and also an original concept in EU policy, bringing together several Commission services under the authority of nine College members. They provide a mandate to achieve specific goals in health, climate and the environment, in a set timeframe. The call for applications to join the five Mission Boards is available online until 2 February 2022, 17:00 CET. More information is available here.


Publication date
5 January 2022
Representation in Cyprus